DV/DT Fabrications


So today I decided I was going to order a new front mount intercooler for my car. There things I considered when I considered them. I wanted build flexibility/options, build quality, high quality materials, and reputable company. I am a huge Shearer Fabrication fan, and since they did not have a intercooler kit out yet I decided I would try the DV/DT Fabrications intercooler kit.

Albert at DV/DT Fab helped me pick the kit that was right for me. What really appealed to me about the DV/DT Fab intercooler design was the unmistakable end tank design. Probably which is the best on the market because it evenly distributes the air flow across the whole core instead of just one portion. The pipes are also made of aluminum which I find nice since the 2.5″ Aluminum piping I got weighs 0.5848 lbs per foot, versus 2.5″ 304 SS (stainless steel) pipe which weighs 1.7125 lbs per foot. Aluminum piping is 1/3 the weight of stainless steel piping, it just makes sense. Another aspect about the DV/DT intercooler kit that I found appealing was the short-route piping. A lot of manufacturers offer short-route piping, but it was something I expected from DV/DT Fab. Along with short-route intercooler piping comes less connections and less chance of having a boost leak, which brings me to my next point- couplers and clamps. The DV/DT kit comes standard with t-bolt clamps and Tial couplers, both superior in their field.
Overall, I am excited to receive my new DV/DT front mount intercooler kit. The kit offers me flexibility to upgrade to a larger throttle body and better intake manifold in the future at a sensible price. I won’t need to buy a whole new intercooler kit if I decide to change throttle bodies of intake manifolds in the future. It just makes sense!

www.dvdtfab.com

    • Beau Brown
    • January 12th, 2008

    Nice… what exactly didn’t you like about the Greddy? It’s definitely more JDM than DV/DT haha. But I know the piping setup is ridiculous on the 24R core so that’s understandable.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

You must be logged in to post a comment.