Increasing Stopping Power with Project Mu


I decided to put some new brakes on my car over the weekend. I literally spent months trying to decide what brakes were the best option for me. I finally settled for Project Mu because it gunmetal in color. I bought my Rotora brake kit in bright red because I wanted to attract attention, for my new setup I wanted a more “mature” and OEM look.
Another thing to note, I wanted a brake kit I could easily get replacement parts for. I have measured my PMU bell and disc and looked over the Brembo Racing catalog and it turns out I can replace my PMU rotors with Brembo Racing discs. This is a benefit considering I won’t have to deal with ordering replacement parts from Mackin; I can just point and click my mouse over at HRPWorld. As far as replacement brake pads, Endless makes pads that fit PMU calipers.
The options for brake kits for a 2g DSM are very limited. But luckily the 2g shares so much with the Evo it’s amazing. I ordered some new OEM 2001 Galant VR4 steering knuckles from over in Asia. And the PMU big brake kit essentially bolted right up without problems.
The bells are a tad thicker and tend to push my wheels out a tad so I suggest ordering some extended wheel studs. If you’re wondering the Evo and 2g DSM share the same ARP extended wheel studs part number.

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

Comments are closed.
